An Introduction – My Top 10 E3 2017 Games!

Hello all! Welcome to my first blog post, which I’m hoping will serve as a sort of introductory window into what kind of games I play, what intrigues me and what I’m looking forward to. So, without further ado, these were my top 10 games of E3 2017!

10. The Last Night

(Xbox One, PC)

I know, this is going to be a PlayStation-heavy blog most of the time but come on – just look at those visuals. The Last Night is a beautiful looking game, with one of the most immediately striking art directions of the generation. I’m also a real sucker for the whole neon-slicked, rain-soaked seedy city streets thing. The game oozes character and despite the retro feel, it feels busy and, most crucially, alive. As a side-scrolling platformer, this is a game I can really get behind.

9. Shadow of the Colossus

(PlayStation 4)

Oh my, this is an effective trailer. I’ll admit it – I never played the original game, nor did I ever play its subsequent remake. This version though, I will absolutely pick up, especially as this game is often considered to be one of the best of all-time. So let’s talk about the trailer. Deliciously sinister and positively ebbing with darkness, I loved every second of it. That constant, pounding heartbeat of sound throughout the trailer’s duration punctuates it and made it very enthralling to watch.

8. Anthem

(PlayStation 4, Xbox One, PC)

I’m guessing this is lower here than it will be on a lot of peoples’ lists. I think it does look very impressive – it basically looks like everything I wanted Destiny to be, with free movement across a huge world. The graphics, of course, are stunning, but I’ve learned not to take E3 trailers too seriously at this point. Bioware is a developer with pedigree, but I never enjoyed Mass Effect. So with Anthem, it’s a wait and see proposition for me. But what I see so far, looks great.

7. Vampyr

(PlayStation 4, Xbox One, PC)

Oh boy, there is just more than a hint of Bloodborne about this one and that can only be a good thing in my eyes. Brought to us by the developers of Life is Strange, Vampyr looks dark, it looks classy and it looks cool. Give me a game with a gothic, Victorian backdrop and you’ve captured my interest. Whether the gameplay matches up with the visual direction remains to be seen, but right now this is on my radar.

6. Sea of Thieves

(Xbox One, PC)

I dare anyone to argue that Sea of Thieves doesn’t have the prettiest water ever seen in a video game. Now, considering it’s a game about pirates, that’s definitely a good thing as you’ll be seeing a lot of it. Sea of Thieves has been around for what feels like an awful long time now, but this year in particular I really felt like it shone amidst a rather mundane crowd. The game has charm, dry wit and a gorgeous art style. Not only that, but its seemingly MMO-style world looks like a joy to frolic about in. Here’s hoping it actually releases soon.

5. Star Wars: Battlefront 2

(PlayStation 4, Xbox One, PC)

The first Star Wars: Battlefront was a flawed, albeit fun romp through a stunningly recreated series of Star Wars-themed arenas with very little substance to grab hold of. Developers do listen however, as EA was desperate to point out – and with good reason. Battlefront 2 looks amazing thanks to their keen intake of player criticism. Not only will there be a single-player campaign, but the inclusion of both prequel and sequel trilogy content will only help to bolster the already incredible original trilogy offerings. Characters like Rey and Darth Maul are now going to be available and if the gameplay revealed is anything to go by, battles are going to be larger, more frenetic and just more Star Wars.

4. Spider-Man

(PlayStation 4)

Perhaps unsurprisingly, the hugely-anticipated Spider-Man gameplay reveal is being phenomenally well-received. Developed by Insomniac, who were behind 2016’s fantastic Ratchet & Clank (among so many other much-loved franchises), Spider-Man looks to be finally giving everyone’s favourite webhead a new lease of life in the video game world. Fluid movement, no doubt inspired by Insomniac’s own Sunset Overdrive, coupled with a beloved world and characters look to make this a must-buy for Spidey fans. The gameplay on show was epic, fun and true to Spider-Man.

3. God of War

(PlayStation 4)

Oh my. Oh I cannot wait. Aside from looking jaw-droppingly gorgeous, God of War developer Sony Santa Monica just picked the absolute best setting for this game. Now that our boy Kratos has wiped out the Greek gods, he’s grown up a bit, sporting a full-on beard and a tag along son. The two of them now find themselves in the magical, often sublime world of Norse mythology. Expect to eventually go toe-to-toe with the likes of Odin, Thor and Loki. Jormungandr the World Serpent even shows up at the end! The visuals are not being skimped on here, while it looks to retain the fast-paced, brutal action the series is famed for.

2. Crash Bandicoot: N. Sane Trilogy

(PlayStation 4)

Alright, so I’m hugely bias towards this game. It’s out in just two weeks, so it didn’t have a big showing at E3 this year. However, it would be downright wrong of me to pretend that this isn’t the game I am absolutely the most excited for right now. As a fervent lover of the original trilogy of Crash Bandicoot games on the PS1 (and Crash Team Racing!), the N.Sane Trilogy is quite literally a dream come true. It looks amazing, sounds amazing and above all, it looks faithful. Vicarious Visions has crammed so much into this package, including time trials for every level and Coco as a fully playable character and I could not be more grateful to them for giving Crash the resurrection he truly deserved. Now, about Spyro the Dragon…

1. Super Mario Odyssey

(Nintendo Switch)

There was however one game that I did prefer to the Crash Bandicoot trilogy back in the day – that game was Super Mario 64. One of my favourite games of all-time (alongside one of its successors, Super Mario Galaxy) Super Mario 64 was my gateway to the world of games. Since then, I’ve held the 3D Mario games in the highest regard. They’re part of an upper echelon of games that practically nothing else comes close to. Super Mario Odyssey is finally seeing Nintendo return to that open-world style Mario game, as opposed to the now somewhat trite 2D offerings we’ve been fed over and over of recent years.

Super Mario Odyssey looks absolutely bonkers and I love it. I will admit to not being quite sold on the oddly jarring mix of art styles, with the strangely ‘realistic’ humans of New Donk City and now the dinosaur level as well, but as you can see from the trailer, this game is brimming with confidence. It’s quirky, colourful and immensely endearing, while sporting all the hallmarks of the very best of the Mario titles. The ability to capture and possess pretty much anything in the world opens up a labyrinth of possibilities and the level and NPC design looks to be top-notch. Nintendo are pouring their very best ideas into this game and I simply cannot wait.

Well, that’s my list! Let me know what your favourite games of E3 2017 were in the comments below and which you feel I’ve criminally left out! Thanks for reading and consider following the blog for more gaming chatter.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “An Introduction – My Top 10 E3 2017 Games!

Add yours

    1. Hey! Thanks for the offer, I appreciate that – you’ve got a great looking website. Unfortunately I’m not looking for that at the moment, but thank you all the same.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

